If Only…

As the world turns around and around again

My eyes begin to see all that stands in front of me

My spirit sees what is behind, determining the understanding of the eyes

Dreams haunt while sleeping, dreams unfolding while awake

Sometimes pondering on how much this world can take

Before we break, before we grow, before it begins to show

The pain that builds our societies, the shame of our idolatries

As our people, so full of disdain for each other, stands brother against brother

Governments fighting one another, for oil, for gold, for something we are never told

I have so many doubts for us, fighting for a future, of calm , of serenity

Do we have the propensity, to love, to care, to share

To truly accept the suffering that fills the air

I, for one, will never let my hopes die, no matter the questions that may arise

I will dream the nightmares, I will breath in the heavy air

I will take on the all the pain of this place

If only you would promise to carry our precious world into a new space

One of understanding, of hope, of freedom

If only…

                                                      -RAIN-

About RAIN

a Father, Gardener, Artist, Musician, Buddhist, Rasta, a lover of life with all its joys and struggles...... Here just to share my little world with the big world....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If Only…

  1. jennabel33 says:

    Beautiful.

  2. A thoughtful review of world conditions from the heart of a passionate poet. excellent!
    Thank you for following and opening the door to your exciting world! Eddie

    • RAIN says:

      I am blessed to find your world. Everyday is a search for inspiration. And inspiration I do find. Thanks for keeping strong in our times.

Leave a comment